What do these planets have in common?

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. They are all gas planets, and so are we!

It’s coming up to four weeks since I was advised by Calvin’s pediatrician to cut out dairy/lactose. I’ve been really good about it and I have noticed a difference in the frequency of him getting gassy. Now, he is much less gassy unless he hasn’t been burped very well. Along with this dietary restriction, as mentioned previously, we are also a gluten free household. About once a month I’ll have a tortilla and that’s my only slip up which usually makes me a tad gassy, but doesn’t give me too much bother.

This past week with the start of Thanksgiving festivities, I slipped up in a big way by eating dinner rolls and a burger bun when my order was mistakenly without its lettuce wrap. This wouldn’t be such a problem if it were only myself that I was effecting, but it’s not. Both Calvin and I have been suffering with stomach ache and gas since. I feel terrible that I ate so much gluten and that it has clearly had an adverse effect.

Luckily with some stomach massage and gripe water Calvin’s stomach is starting to ease up. But, it’s a clear sign that I really need to consider what goes into my body. I’d hate to hear him squeal in pain again like he did today as his body contorted from the strain on his poor digestive system. I’m glad that we seem to have a resilient little guy, despite his discomfort he ate well and even gave me some genuine smiles between the gas induced grimaces.

On another note, Calvin will be six weeks old on Sunday. I can’t quite wrap my head around how quickly he’s growing. I’m afraid to blink, he’s changing so fast. His big smiles, wide eyes and the control he is finding in his neck, arms and legs are amazing. We take it for granted as adults that we are able to learn so quickly, that we are in control of our bodies for the most part. It’s a strange realization sometimes looking at Calvin, that he is still so new!

These six weeks have been quite the learning curve, which I’ll go into in my next post. But for now, Calvin is fast asleep and I should follow suit! God bless!

Leave a Reply

