God Save The Queen?

Turns out I do have something to write about today. It’s not my usual life/parenting/baby post and hopefully it won’t come across as a rant/moan.

I realized today that the longer I live in America, the more protective I become of my English heritage. I’ve never been patriotic, in fact, I would go as far as saying that I am pretty anti monarchy and whilst I miss my family and friends, I don’t really miss the country. I am also aware that there is something kitschy about using a countries flag/language and emblems. But I find myself becoming very protective of it all.

It began with a local derby team using the Union Jack helmets, I got the reasoning behind using them, it fit in with the teams name/image and it has bothered me less over time. But more recently there is the whole “Keep Calm and Carry On” bandwagon every Tom, Dick and Harry have been manipulating, it’s been done over and over again. There is nothing unique about this, it isn’t even kitschy anymore, it’s just… annoying.

What is almost insulting to me though is the use of the Union Jack. I would’t think of plastering the American flag over everything, I’d think that would come off as very disrespectful, especially from someone who isn’t from here. Am I being over sensitive? Probably.

Don't be a tit head.

Don’t be a tit head.

Leave a Reply

