New Addition

Since I last updated with a post about being overdue, we now have a new addition to our family! Mia was born at 41 weeks and 2 days past her estimated due date with quite the epic arrival!

On the morning of her birth, Curtis had been joking around that we should start doing some exercises to work her out, well I agreed to do some squats at around 7am before sitting down for a cup of tea. No sooner had I sat down I felt a weird pop but no fluid was leaking, but damn, the contractions started at 7:15 and just like with Calvin, they hit hard!

I tried to take a shower, which Curtis convinced me not to with the suggestion of getting to the hospital asap. I don’t know what I was thinking, but a shower just seemed logical at the time. By the time my mother in law got here, not 15 minutes later, I was on my hands and knees laboring in our hallway with poor Calvin trying to console me the best he could. We left right away, admittedly running a few red lights and about a block away from the hospital, I needed to push. I say this with all seriousness, that had I not had jeans on, the show would have been starting!

We got to the hospital at about 8am and in a flurry of activity from getting me in a wheelchair, straight into a room and a sudden influx of nursing staff, Mia was born at 8:06am, 8lb 9ozs and a set of lungs on her that signaled her arrival with a bang!

It’s been two weeks now since she was born and it’s definitely been an adjustment to have a newborn and a toddler. I’m not going to lie, it’s been hard. You forget about the sleepless nights, the constant eating, sleeping and poop cycle that leaves little break for rest. It’s so worth it though! Calvin loves his baby sister already and although he’s not been 100% his cheery self, he’s adjusting and is a great helper!

At 3am, I think that about covers an update. Time to nurse this little peanut again, change a diaper and hope for sleep!

IMG_7956.JPG

3 thoughts on “New Addition

  1. Pingback: Time Flies When You’re Having Fun! | Skate Fast, Turn Left

Leave a Reply

