Dressing To Impress No One

Dressing yourself postpartum is hard! You don’t fit into your pre pregnancy clothes, and the maternity clothes you’ve been wearing for nine months don’t quite fit right either. So you are stuck with the decision to either wear the ill fitting maternity clothes, or go shopping, knowing that you’ll be losing weight and these too will soon fit horribly.

I’m stuck in that transition stage right now and jeez it’s frustrating! Right now I’m wearing one pair of maternity jeans that I’m cycling through the wash every other day, tank tops that hug me in all the wrong places and (this is embarrassing to admit) the granny panties I wore in those first few weeks after giving birth.

You may be thinking “Where are your yoga pants!?” I have never worn, nor owned a pair of yoga pants. And this is just my own preference, but unless I’m taking part in yoga, I don’t think I ever will!

This being my second child, I’m not losing weight as quickly as I did the first time around and the weight is distributed completely differently now. I remember looking at myself wearing my pre pregnancy skinny jeans postpartum the first time around and poking at the slight muffin top… Oh how I look back at that now and scoff at the ridiculousness of it!

And it’s only been 7 weeks, I’ll get there! I just need to look at my previous post and remember my health and fitness goals. It’s going to take some time. If you’re in this situation too, don’t feel discouraged! You don’t have to give in to the yoga pants and mom jeans just yet!

So stand with me and say “This is a transition, it isn’t permanent. It will get easier, I will feel awesome again!”

And maybe, like me, pull out those pre pregnancy clothes, and instead of lamenting your new body, remind yourself that it has built and nourished a child! The skinny jeans can wait.

After all, who am I trying to impress? Not this playful two year old, or this sleeping baby in my arms!

2015/01/img_8389.jpg

Leave a Reply

