Religious Minded Vs. Science Minded

I didn’t grow up in the church, my family are not religious in the slightest. I’m sure that in desperate situations they have probably called out to someone to help them, but they don’t pray, they don’t attend church and they don’t identify as any fixed religion. I went to a Catholic high school, not for the religious aspects, but for the academic performance I could achieve under the tuition there. I excelled in all of my subjects, but at GCSE level, the only class I received an A* in was Religious Education.

I’ve never identified as part of any religious group, but when asked I identify with both Christian and Buddhist teachings. I’m sure it would be frowned upon to pick and choose teachings, but I pray to God and I read the words of the Dalai Lama.

Lately however, I find myself leaning more towards the scientific understandings of the world. I believe that there is place in this world for both a spiritual and a scientific understanding of many aspects of modern life. For one thing, with the recent outbreak of measles, I cringe when I read comments from anti-vaxxers that flat out ignore scientific research and spout made up ideologies, or worse still use religion as a reason to deny their child protection and put others at risk.

I’m not going to go off on a tangent about that though, I have far too much to say about it for one blog post and on a subject that makes the passionate side of my personality ignite.

My point is, I’m having a conflict of spirituality. I do thank God for all of the blessings in my life, but I am also finding it hard to find my place in the vast ocean of ideologies and perspectives that religion can give.

Leave a Reply

