Threenager

12 days until Calvin turns 3… Where has my baby gone?

We’ve already been witnessing the behaviors of a threenager recently, the argumentative nature, the poor listener and the standard “I don’t know” answer to every question.

Despite these new obstacles, there is no doubt that Calvin is a wonderful child. And perhaps that may be said through the rose tinted glasses of his mother, but I truly believe that I am raising a fun, energetic, intelligent boy on the road to becoming a brilliant young man.

I try to tell him three things everyday:

  1. That I’m proud of him
  2. That I love him
  3. That I love to watch him

And by that last one, I mean, I love to watch him play, explore, sing, dance, laugh, love, socialize, share… The list goes on. But I want him to know that I love to see him doing these things, I want to reinforce the positive behaviors. This has lead to him opening up about his likes/dislikes, it’s driven him to speak politely to others and we are on the road to grasping the idea of sharing (which is hard with a little sister!).

We are going to have a little get together with friends and family for his birthday, and Calvin has chosen the theme. Octonauts! I’m stoked that he’s been able have some input as to what he’d like and thankfully the “I don’t know” answer suits me just fine when I ask him about specifics, it just makes things easier!

So gone is my baby, but before me is a little boy who just loves to laugh, and to make other people laugh. And it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

