Weaning

When I started breastfeeding Calvin, I had some struggles with it, but after consulting with experienced friends and family, he and I, got the hang of it. He breastfed until 15 months and I would have let him go longer, had him nursing not made me feel like I wanted to vomit (I was pregnant). 

Mia took to breastfeeding like a duck to water, and is approaching her first birthday. I’m struggling lately with the desire to wean her, in hopes that it helps her sleep better at night (no more comfort feeding) or letting her go as long as she wants and self weans.

I’m blessed to have been able to breastfeed them at all, for some women it’s just not possible. And for others, formula was always the plan, and either way, I don’t judge anyone on that choice. Just feed all the babies!

So the desire to wean her is somewhat selfish. She still wakes 2-3 times a night and the only thing that gets her back to sleep, is nursing her. And I am exhausted. Ive racked up 26 months of breastfeeding at this point, and only a few months after I stopped nursing Calvin, I had a newborn. You can do the math on how many months of uninterrupted sleep I’ve had in the last three years (hint: not many!).

It’s also a selfish desire, as I want to lose weight and whilst I’m breastfeeding, attempts at dieting have left me with decreased milk supply and the weight isn’t budging! I’ll get there, but I think the ideal time will be when my bodies nutrients aren’t being literally sucked out of me!

Here I stand on the precipice of ending nursing with my last child, and I’m torn. 

2 thoughts on “Weaning

  1. Oh dear! I can’t imagine the lack of sleep you have had. This post struck me deeply because I’m in the process of weaning my Calvin. Seems to be more his direction but since it’s our last baby I’m trying to hold on. Best to you in the days/weeks/months ahead.

    • I can totally understand that! I’m starting to feel that same tug as well, knowing this will be the last child I feed is making is so much more difficult. Good luck to you and your little Calvin, too!

Leave a Reply

