Night Weaning

Tonight is night one of night weaning Mia. I started to do this a couple of months ago, but when she got sick with croup, we went backwards and ended up where we are now, with her waking every few hours wanting to nurse. 

I have been researching different methods, and a lot of them involve that of Ferber, which I think is excellent, apart from the fact that our little lady is so strong willed, that she would rather throw up from crying so hard, than give up. So I’ve decided to do what I did with Calvin. When she wakes, I will give her the opportunity to settle herself. If she doesn’t settle, I will go in and rock her until she settles. At no point will I nurse. I’m hoping that like Calvin, after a few nights of this she will realize that waking does not equate to me feeding her.

She’s 1 now, she eats 3 meals of solids a day, nurses still during the daytime and really doesn’t need the mama milk for anything other than comfort at night. I’m not cutting out nursing entirely, just at night for now. We both need our sleep and something has got to give!

Here’s to night one, if you are going through this too right now, I wish you the best of luck in your endevor! We can do this! 

Leave a Reply

