Anglophiles

Maybe this post will come across as petty, but sometimes I am genuinely offended by self described Anglophiles and the way they represent British people and their culture. I’m a British expat living in America, and I wouldn’t align myself as being a fanatic of Americans or American culture. I love my Americans, I love where I live, and I like the culture, but I don’t make sweeping assumptions about the people of this great land, or the ways that they live.

I don’t have a problem with Anglophiles or Anglophilia in general, but it hurts my heart when I see narrow views or misrepresentations of my home country. I see it on YouTube channels, on Buzzfeed articles, on blogs, Twitter feeds, Facebook pages and printed across garish items of clothing… Words, imagery and ideas that are somewhat offensive.

Let me clear something up. Television representation and I’m referring to tv series (other than documentaries, although there are exceptions) and feature films, are not always accurate depictions of British life, as they are not accurate depictions of American life.

If the stereotypes were true, all British people would live in London, have terrible teeth, be completely emotionless and utter phrases like “Pip pip, cheerio!” and of course, we would all know members of the royal family.

It’s akin to people outside of America viewing all Californians as blonde haired, blue eyed, tall, tanned, somewhat unintelligent, stoned surfers who talk like this “Did you see that sweet wave, dude? It was like, totally righteous!”.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this, other than to say, if you meet a Brit on your travels, perhaps put the stereotypes aside and talk to them before assuming that wherever they are from, it must be part or close to London, and for the love of God, please don’t try to imitate the accent, okay dude? 

6 thoughts on “Anglophiles

  1. I must say that I understand your stance. My parents are Jamaicans and have had to fight the weed, dreadlocks stereotypes people throw out when they find out where my parents are from for years. I think I was British in another life. I love the accent, and one of my favorite people at work is British. She keeps me up to date on all things British.

Leave a Reply

