Social Media

I’m on social media for numerous reasons. Primarily, to keep in touch with my family and friends. It’s not as easy as popping around to my moms for a quick visit with us living in California, and she living in England. I share photos, status updates and keep up with what’s happening in my friends and family members lives mainly through platforms like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. We utilize Skype when we want to have some face time and that as I have mentioned before, is one of my favorite things about the technology and software available to the average person.

Lately however, I’ve found myself recoiling away from social media, particularly the comment sections of articles that often pop up in my newsfeed. I find some of the discussions between (presumably) grown adults, gut wrenching. I didn’t quite realize how some people choose to use social media. There’s a perverse anonymity that comes from the keyboard warriors who take it upon themselves to cast digital stones, to use words that are venomous and cruel whilst hiding themselves behind privacy settings. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m no stranger to this. I was shown this side of the Internet at a pretty young age whilst playing online video games. I have been the target of venomous and abusive language. But I’m surprised by how much of this grown up conversation that is full of resentment, judgment and frankly, astonishingly bad spelling and grammar, appears on articles relating to parenting. Social media seems to be the playground of the “sanctimommies”. 

They say that it takes a village to raise children. If this is the village that modern parents have to look to, I’d rather not be part of it. 

Leave a Reply

